### **New Westminster Minor Hockey Association**

## ANNUAL GENERAL MEETING

Monday, May 28th, 2007

at the Royal Towers Hotel

- 1. The meeting was called to order at 8:00pm by President Janie Parr.
- 2. Announcement of awards (presented on May 15):

a.	Dave Dailey Award	Mitchell Fyffe
b.	Norma Dailey Award	not awarded
c.	Scott Munro Award	Sean Ewert
d.	Scott Stacey Award	Peter Kaulfuss
e.	Matthew Smith Award	James Mackenzie
f.	NWMHA Juvenile Award	Justin Myers
g.	Fred Chapman Award	Andrew Quinn
h.	Silver Whistle Award	Carlos Borges
i.	Referee Development Awards	Michael Flintoff
j.	Coaching Award	Dave Philip
k.	Safety Award	Jesse Leung

Winners of New Westminster Minor Hockey post-secondary scholarships for 2005-2006 were Taylor Deitcher, Sheldon Findlay, James Innes and Courtneay McGrath-Agg.

The volunteer of the year award in memory of Al Hughes was presented to Rob Nasato, 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-president and Peewee A team head coach for his contribution to minor hockey over the past several years.

3. Adoption of minutes of 2006 AGM.

Motion to adopt by Merlin Schell, seconded by Ross Young and carried.

- 4.0. President's Report Janie Parr reported that the Association had another good year in 2006-2007 with a record number of teams winning banners. She congratulated the coaches, players and parent volunteers for the excellent showing. She stated that, on the other hand, it had been a trying year for the executive and presented a time-line of the events concerning the replacement of Harbs Bains as Midget A head coach and the subsequent appeals by both Harbs Bains and the NWMHA, resulting in the BC Hockey Executive decision to overturn the ruling from their appeal committee that Harbs Bains be reinstated.
- 4.1. 1st Vice-President Rob Nasato reported that much of his time had been spent with disciplinary issues. We had obtained sponsorships from a number of companies, about the same as recent years. We have the opportunity to raise money by selling rinkboard space at Queens Park Arena anyone knowing of prospective advertisers should let the 1<sup>st</sup> Vice-President know.
- 4.2. 2nd Vice-President Rob Ballarin was absent and did not submit at report.
- 4.3 3rd Vice-President Oscar Ramos. Oscar reported that his main duties were in the area of risk management and there were a number of issues in that area during the past year.

- 4.4. Registrar's Report Blair Poljer. Approximately 350 players were registered, of whom 50 were new players. He stated his disagreement with the formation of a joint team with Burnaby Winter Club to enable a NWMHA registered player to play there.
- 4.5. Head Coach's Report Rick Lake. Rick reported that rep team tryouts had generally gone well but there were some problems with goalie evaluation. Clinics were also generally successful although it was not possible to arrange for RPM's goalie coaches to provide clinics at times that worked with our schedule.
- 4.6. Referee-in-Chief Sean Carlton was absent and did not submit a report.
- 4.7. Ice-Allocator Stephanie Carlton expressed her thanks to the Recreation Department staff and Arena personnel for their co-operation. She said that the only problem was the cancellation of the Atom House tournament.
- 4.8 Referee-Allocators Kal Sahota and Janice Flintoff. It was again a good year with few problems.
- 4.9. Equipment Manager Ed Loughhead did not submit a report.
- 4.10. Division Managers' Reports.

Juvenile –Jack Steele thanked the coaches and volunteers and reported that the Juvenile team had a successful season.

Midget) – Keith reported that the A team won placed second at the Al Hughes tournament at Christmas, the best result in some years. The C teams were competitive and one team qualified for their banner game. He thanked the coaches and managers.

Bantam – Chuck Campbell reported that it was a successful year for all three teams and all won playoff banners. He thanked the coaches, assistant coaches, and parent volunteers who contributed to their successful seasons.

Pee-Wee – Vacant (no report)

Atom – Adrian Wijesinghe reported that the Atom teams also had a good year. They had an exhibition game against a team from China early in the season.

Hockey 3 & 4 – Purn Disanjh reported that both the Hockey 3 and Hockey 4 teams had good years and participated in the banner day which was held at season end for Hockey 2, 3 and 4. Purn thanked the coaches and parents for their support during the year.

Hockey 1 & 2 - Cliff Shortreed was absent and there was no report. Parents reported that the Hockey 1 group had a good season.

5. Approval of financial statements for the year ended March 31st 2007.

Report by Treasurer Tamara Rossander. (see attached financial statements)

Motion to approve the financial statement (as amended to show the Operating Statement as being for the year ended March 31, 2007 moved by Chuck Campbell, seconded by Jack Steele and carried.

6. Approval of the budget for the year ended March 31, 2008.

Motion to approve the operating budget moved by Tamara Rossander, seconded by Stephanie Carlton and carried.

### 7. Election of executive for the 2007-2008 year.

President Adrian Wijesinghe.

1st Vice President Rob Nasato.

2nd Vice President Keith Catton.

3rd Vice President Oscar Ramos.

Secretary Tamara Rossander.

Treasurer Vacant.
Registrar Blair Poljer.
Head Coach Stew Colbourne.

Referee-in -Chief Vacant.

Ice Allocator Stephanie Carlton. Equipment manager Shawn Lakusta.

Referee Allocators Janice Flintoff/Rick Lake.

Juvenile Division manager
Midget Division manager
Bantam Division manager
Pee Wee Division manager
Atom Division manager
Hockey 3&4
Hockey 1&2

Donna Urry.
Jacki Daniels.
Dave Eto.
Ross Young.
Andrew Barron.
Colleen Ray.
Vacant.

It was moved, seconded and carried to destroy the ballots.

Thanks were extended to Susan Sage, Gislaine Beaupre and Eugene Wandell for acting as scrutineers during the voting.

### 8. Remarks from incoming President.

My interest is in player development, structure and accountability. I look forward to working harmoniously with the executive to increase communication.

## 9. Old Business. None.

#### 10. New Business.

Chuck Campbell and Jack Steele were elected honorary life members of the Association for their many years of service to the Association and minor hockey. Chuck served as Treasurer, President and Past President/Secretary for a total of twelve years on the executive and has been an effective spokesperson for New Westminster Minor Hockey at Pacific Coast and BC Hockey meetings. Jack was division manager in all divisions from Atom to Juvenile, including the last six years as Juvenile Division Manager. Both continued to be involved in minor hockey long after their children had grown up and left minor hockey.

# 11. Motion to adjourn.

Moved by Chuck Campbell, seconded by Keith Catton and carried.

The meeting adjourned at 10.25pm

Chuck Campbell Secretary