

NWMHA New Westminster Minor Hockey Association P.O. Box 456 New Westminster, B.C. V3L 4Y8 nwmha.ca

NEW WESTMINSTER MINOR HOCKEY ASSOCIATION 2014-2015 ANNUAL AWARDS, SCHOLARSHIPS & BURSARIES

1. Dave Dailey Award (Plaque and hockey scholarship): Trevor Schweitzer

- Skater, Peewee through Midget Divisions (usually a Rep player)
- Good hockey skills, good sportsmanship, consistency, courtesy, acceptable level of scholastic achievement
- A greater emphasis on skill for this award than the others

2. Norma Dailey Award (Plaque and hockey scholarship): Ezrah Glanville

- Goalie, Peewee through Midget Divisions (usually Rep player)
- Same criteria as Dave Dailey award

3. Scott Munro Award (Plaque and hockey scholarship): Alex Lazecki

- Skater or goalie, Bantam C
- Principal considerations are dedication, love of the game and sportsmanship

4. Scott Stacey Award (Plaque and registration for the following year): Seamus Marcantonio

- Skater or goalie, usually first year Midget Division, usually from C team
- Dedication, citizenship, acceptable school record, sportsmanship on and off the ice, and good hockey skills for the level at which the player is playing

5. Matthew Smith Award (Plaque and hockey scholarship): Noel Ellis

- Skater or goalie, usually first year Bantam Division, usually from C team
- Same criteria as Scott Stacey Award

6. NWMHA Juvenile Award (Plaque and either registration for the following season or \$300 scholarship towards higher education): **Jacob Dabic**

- Skater or goalie, usually first or second year Juvenile Division
- Same criteria as Scott Stacey Award

7. Fred Chapman Memorial Award (Plaque and either hockey scholarship or registration for the following season): **Ruben Gomez-Garcia**

- Skater or Goalie, Peewee through Midget Divisions
- To be presented to a player who displays courage in the face of adversity, compassion and love of the game

8. 3M/Hockey Canada Coach of the Year (Plaque and Certificate): Peter Kaulfuss

- "Outstanding commitment and contribution to the coaching of amateur hockey in Canada"
- Outstanding contribution to hockey as a coach
- Dedication, sportsmanship, ability to teach skills and values

9. Hockey Canada Safety Program Recognition Award (Plaque and Certificate): Vandy Britton

- "Outstanding contribution to amateur hockey in Canada as a Safety Person"
- Commitment to fair play, respect and risk management

10. Al Hughes Volunteer of the Year Award: Kevin Woolley

- Contribution to minor hockey in New Westminster during the current year or over a period of years
- Not awarded for performance in carrying out only elected duties of an elected position, must go above and beyond

11. Silver Whistle Award (Plaque and Referee school scholarship): Cameron Quadrelli

- Made on the recommendation of the Referee-in-Chief and the Referee Allocator a referee who has enhanced the game of hockey through his or her refereeing, setting an example with respect to knowledge of the rules, consistency and dedication to refereeing and the game
- award comes with payment of the fees for attendance at a one-week long referee-training program within eighteen months of the date of the award

12. Referee Development Award (Certificate and Referee school scholarship): Shane Carey, Jaxon Corbett and Connor Hadzic

- made on the recommendation of the RIC and Referee Allocator to referees who show promise and would benefit from attendance at a referee course
- award comes with payment of the fees for attendance at a one-week long referee-training program within eighteen months of the date of the award

13. Lifetime Achievement Award (Permanent voting membership): Purn Disanjh

- bestowed on a member for distinctive services
- life members will have voting privileges at all duly constituted general meetings.

SCHOLARSHP WINNERS

(\$500 each for players enrolled in or proceeding to post-secondary education)

Tymen Cho Cam Danroth Katie Lakusta Brandon Lee Alexander Skelton Ryan Wilkinson Scott Woolley

BURSARIES

(\$2000 for a A team Head coach in full-time attendance at college or university)

Todd Fletcher Peter Kaulfuss