

N.W.M.H.A.

New Westminster Minor Hockey Association P.O. Box 456 New Westminster, B.C. V3L 4Y8 nwmha.ca

NEW WESTMINSTER MINOR HOCKEY ASSOCIATION ANNUAL AWARDS 2016-2017 Annual Awards & Scholarships

1. Dave Dailey Award (Plaque and hockey scholarship): JORDAN SMITH

- Skater, Peewee through Midget Divisions (usually a Rep player)
- Good hockey skills, good sportsmanship, consistency, courtesy, acceptable level of scholastic achievement
- A greater emphasis on skill for this award than the others

2. Norma Dailey Award (Plaque and hockey scholarship): DYLAN KLIMCHUK

- Goalie, Peewee through Midget Divisions (usually Rep player)
- Same criteria as Dave Dailey award

3. Scott Munro Award (Plaque and hockey scholarship): ALEX BEIDKA

- Skater or goalie, Bantam C
- Principle considerations are dedication, love of the game and sportsmanship

4. Scott Stacey Award (Plaque and registration for the following season): JOSH CRUZ

- Skater or goalie, usually first year Midget Division, usually from C team
- Dedication, citizenship, acceptable school record, sportsmanship on and off the ice, and good hockey skills for the level at which the player is playing

5. Matthew Smith Award (Plaque and hockey scholarship): TYSEN NIELSEN

- Skater or goalie, usually first year Bantam Division, usually from C team
- Same criteria as Scott Stacey Award

6. Chuck Campbell Award (Plaque and either registration for the following season or \$300 scholarship towards higher education): NOT AWARDED THIS YEAR

- Skater or goalie, usually first or second year Juvenile Division
- Same criteria as Scott Stacey Award

7. Fred Chapman Memorial Award (Plaque and either hockey scholarship or registration for the following season): COLBURN CONNELLY

- Skater or Goalie, Peewee through Midget Divisions
- To be presented to a player who displays courage in the face of adversity, compassion and love of the game
- The award is presented by a representative of the family of the late Fred Chapman

8. 3M/Hockey Canada Coach of the Year (Plaque and Certificate): YVON BEAUDOIN

- "Outstanding commitment and contribution to the coaching of amateur hockey in Canada"
- Outstanding contribution to hockey as a coach
- Dedication, sportsmanship, ability to teach skills and values

9. Hockey Canada Safety Program Recognition Award (Plaque and Certificate): NOT AWARDED THIS YEAR

- "Outstanding contribution to amateur hockey in Canada as a Safety Person"
- Commitment to fair play, respect and risk management
- Contribution to hockey through the position of trainer during the current year or over a period of years

10. Al Hughes Volunteer of the Year Award: BETH MCNAUGHTON

- Contribution to minor hockey in New Westminster during the current year or over a period of years
- Recipient need not be a member of the executive
- Not awarded for performance in carrying out only elected duties of an elected position, must go above and beyond

11. Past President's Award (Plaque): NOT AWARDED THIS YEAR

• Awarded to President on completion of final year of office

12. Silver Whistle Award (Plaque and Referee school scholarship): ETHAN DONNELLY

- Is made on the recommendation of the Referee-in-Chief and Referee Allocator to a referee who has enhanced the game of hockey through his/her refereeing by setting an example with respect to knowledge of the rules, consistency and dedication to refereeing and the game.
- Award comes with payment of the fees for attendance at a one-week long referee-training program within eighteen months of the date of the award.

13. Referee Development Award (Certificate and Referee school scholarship): CARTER DONNELLY ALEKSEI LEHMANN ETHAN FONTAINE

- Up to three per season are made on the recommendation of the RIC and Referee Allocator to referees who show promise and would benefit from attendance at a referee course.
- Award comes with payment of the fees for attendance at a one-week long referee-training program within eighteen months of the date of the award.

14. Life Time Achievement Award (Permanent voting membership): NOT AWARDED THIS YEAR

• Life membership may be bestowed upon any member of the Association for distinctive services.

- Nominations for life membership must be made by an executive member and be submitted to the executive along with a supporting resume at the last regular meeting of the executive of the current season.
- Such approvals and briefs shall be attached and become part of the minutes of the Annual General Meeting of the Association.
- Life members will have voting privileges at all duly constituted general meetings.

AARON LOUGHEAD MEMORIAL SCHOLARSHIP: \$752: BENJAMIN MANVILLE

NWMHA SCHOLARSHIP AWARD: \$500 EACH

- 1. SEAMUS MARCANTONIO
- 2. KOBE NODA
- 3. JOSHUA LAFOND
- 4. ARSHPREET SIDHU
- 5. CONRAD CHO
- 6. BENJAMIN MANVILLE